People suffering from coeliac disease must follow a gluten-free diet, avoiding foods that contain wheat, oats, rye and barley.
- Coeliac disease is an autoimmune disease.
- It affects about one in 100 people in the UK.
- Symptoms are triggered by consuming a protein called gluten.
- Gluten damages the small intestine, preventing the body from absorbing all the nutrients it needs from food.
- It is found in the cereals wheat, rye and barley and sometimes oats.
- Symptoms can vary and can occur at any age - they include diarrhoea, stomach pain and indigestion.
- If left undiagnosed, it can lead to malnutrition and can prevent children from growing normally.
- Coeliac disease can only be confirmed by a medical diagnosis, so if you have any concerns it is important that you consult a doctor before changing your diet.
- Although the condition is permanent, by avoiding gluten you can limit the damage to the intestine and stop the symptoms.
- Many foods contain these cereals, but by finding gluten-free alternatives, sufferers can enjoy a life free of symptoms.
Pulses can be made into gram flour and urd flour. They do not rise well when baked, but with a little experimentation they can be used effectively.
- Wheat and grains made from wheat, such as bulgar wheat, semolina, cous cous, spelt
|Wheat glucose syrup, wheat dextrose and maltodextrin should be avoided on a gluten-free diet.||Although these ingredients are made from cereals which contain gluten, they have been processed (hydrolysed) so no gluten remains.|
|Buckwheat is a form of wheat and so should be avoided.||Buckwheat is actually a herb, not a form of wheat and is tolerated by most coeliac sufferers.|
|Semolina is gluten-free.||Although semolina comes from the outer coat of wheat, it does contain gluten. Most pasta is made from semolina.|
|I won’t be able to have bread or pasta again.||Foods based on wheat, barley and rye can be made suitable for those with coeliac disease by removing the gluten. We stock a variety of gluten-free products, including breads, flour, cakes, biscuits, pasta, sausages and breakfast cereals.|
|I can’t drink spirits made from wheat.||Spirits, where wheat is used, are gluten-free as all traces of gluten are removed during distillation.|
|All beer and lager is suitable for coeliac sufferers.||Where wheat is used in brewing, small amounts of gluten may remain in the beer/lager, even after fining and may not be suitable for coeliac sufferers.|
|I have noticed that some gluten-free products contain malt extract or malt vinegar and thought these should be avoided.||Some gluten-free products may contain small amounts of malt extract or malt vinegar and these are tolerated by most people with coeliac disease.|
|Spelt is suitable for coeliac sufferers||Although spelt, which is a type of wheat, contains less gluten than other wheat varieties, it is not suitable for coeliac sufferers.|
All Waitrose-branded pre-packed products that contain gluten will highlight tihs on the back of the pack
- Waitrose stock a variety of gluten-free products, including breads, flour, cakes, biscuits, pasta, sausages and breakfast cereals.
- You can also download a list of our top 10 basic shopping basket for coeliacs, recommended by our nutritionist, around which you can build your choice of meals. Download your list here
- To help with your shopping we can supply you with a list of all our own-label foods that are free from gluten, which excludes any food containing wheat, oats, rye and barley. For a copy contact:
Nutrition Advice Service
Tel: 0800 188884
Other useful contacts
Tel: 0845 305 2060
www.coeliac.org.uk (this link opens a new window)